Get to Know Courtney Geolat, International Programs Assistant

Courtney and her husband at their wedding last summer.

 

What does a typical day at work look like? 

The beauty of my job is that no two days are the same. I spend time communicating with volunteers, coordinating logistics, researching country requirements (visas, NGO registration, etc.), and collaborating with program staff to plan training visits.

Tell us a little about your background and why it led you to Children’s HeartLink.

After living in the Philippines and working with at-risk girls, I knew I wanted to spend my career bettering the lives of those who did not have the privilege of growing up with the same opportunities I had. There is no better place to see this goal lived out than at Children’s HeartLink, alongside other committed individuals, working to fight congenital heart disease on the global scale.

What motivates you?

I’m motivated by the belief that every person deserves a good quality of life. No child should have to suffer because they were born in a location without appropriate resources.

 What is the most rewarding part of your job? The most challenging? 

The most rewarding part of my job is getting to hear the stories after a training visit and knowing I contributed to the success in a small way. The most challenging part of my job is coordinating logistics with our important volunteers who are very busy and work in different parts of the country.

What are the most important traits for your job?

Ann Odens, who was in this position before me, once told me that “if people don’t know you’re there, then you have done your job successfully.” Of course, there are always going to be things which we can’t control, but I try my best to live up to this statement of Ann’s. I strive to ensure our volunteers have seamless travel experiences and all the logistics have been successfully managed. It is my hope that when a volunteer begins their Children’s HeartLink visit they can focus on the goals and objectives of training without worrying about logistics.

What do you like to do in your spare time?

I love anything to do with being outside such as hiking, biking, and swimming. I also enjoy cooking and sharing a good meal with friends and family!

 What’s something people are surprised to learn about you?

Both of my parents were adopted in closed adoptions so I don’t know my true ethnicity. My mother was adopted from Germany and my father from the United States but that’s all we know. Hopefully, someday we can learn more about our family ancestry.

Tell us about your family.

My husband and I were married last June . We are currently enjoying our first year of marriage!

Courtney Geolat came to Children’s HeartLink from Nacel Open Door, where she was a travel coordinator assisting international exchange students. She is passionate about other cultures and spent time in the Philippines working with at-risk girls.